Tick Tock

Yesterday I got a massage from a new massage therapist I found who is a rock star.  He works with a lot of runners and totally gets the typical tweaks that a runner’s body needs.  He’s a very laid back and funny guy and I feel very comfortable with him.  Good thing, because what happened yesterday was a nightmare.  Here’s how it went down:

I’m lying on the table, face down, and he’s working on the backs of my legs.  All of a sudden he says “Um, Pamela?”  (long pause)  “You have a tick on your leg.”  WTF?!  If I had had clothes on, I would’ve jumped up off that table and ran screaming, but I had to stay lying down because I was butt naked (buck naked?) Anyway…

He went on to say:  “It looks like the head is buried in pretty deep”  (that’s what she said) and then: “I’m gonna pull it out”  (that’s what he said) and he proceeds to grab a kleenex, yank the thing out, and bring it up to where I can see it.  Still alive, all squirming around in the kleenex.  Gross.  He then went and flushed it, washed his hands, put some alcohol on the bite, and continued on like nothing had happened.  But  I was horrified.  HORRIFIED!!  I kept apologizing and he was all “No problem!  Tis the season.  I just pulled one off my daughter too.”  He actually said it’s not the first time that has happened to him (finding a tick on a client) but part of me thinks he was just saying that to be nice.  He did tell me that one time he was massaging a guy and found all kinds of herpes sores around his bum, so that made me feel better.  I guess on the gross-scale, herpes probably rates a little grosser than a tick, right?

My massage therapist doesn’t normally accept tips, but I tipped him last night.  Big time.  Then promptly went home and scoured the internet for symptoms of Lyme disease.

I suppose the silver lining of all this is that the tick was found and removed.  Who knows how long it would’ve been in there before I noticed it myself.    But….. GROSS!!!

Ewwwwww!

And how was your day?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. MR DETERMINED

     /  April 24, 2012

    OMG that must have been really scary. Despite how embarrassing that is, it’s good he found it. Hope you’re not too shakened.

    Reply
    • No, I’m fine. I was more embarrassed than anything else. And grossed out. But you’re right — so good that he found it!

      Reply
  2. Being outdoorsy has also lead me to find a few ticks but I have been lucky to catch em early. Any time we trail run or mountain bike we should inspect ourselves. Nasty little critters. My last trip to Florida for a fat tire festival resulted, 2 weeks later in a chiggers infestation around my ankles. The MOST miserable thing ever. And they’re arachnids, too.

    Reply
  3. Oh chiggers are the worst! I’ve never had them (knock wood) but heard it’s pretty painful. You’re right that outdoorsy people should check for ticks regularly after being outside. I know I will from now on!

    Reply
  4. Haha, you will feel pretty comfortable with your massage therapist here on out… Great post 🙂

    Reply
  5. This is crazy!! What a nice guy to make you feel so comfortable about it.

    Reply
  6. Thanks forr sharing your thoughts on cheap auto insurance.
    Regards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

